What Our Guests Say About Us

Here are some of the reviews that past customers have been kind enough to leave.

We would appreciate it if you could take a moment to let us know about your stay with us.

Higher Farm9.8RECOGNITION OF EXCELLENCE 2021

Higher Farm Bed & B Traveller Review Award

Tripadvisor

    star rating  This place is a hidden gem, especially the Shepherds Huts! So much so that we were only meant to be staying in the hut for one night and then in... read more

    chriswhit1111
    13/10/2020

    star rating  Me and my partner stayed in the beautiful Shepard’s hut. We were welcomed, showed around and recommended local restaurants. We will definitely be coming back, the views were amazing, breakfast... read more

    439georginah
    23/07/2021

    star rating  My wife and I were on our way home to Stirling, Scotland from attending a running event near Chichester. The journey was badly delayed by traffic congestion so we... read more

    Gerry D
    09/11/2021

    star rating  We stayed here last night as we were going to a charity event at Carden Park. The lady that runs the B&B is amazing ... I dont think we... read more

    Nadine M
    09/10/2021

    star rating  We booked a one night stay on our way to have a few days in Wales.
    Heather welcomed us with a pot of tea and a beer sitting in... read more

    theresa c
    11/06/2021

    star rating  Spent a couple of days at Higher Barn with friends and was amazed at the high standard of this accommodation, food and hospitality of the hosts, Heather & Neil.... read more

    lindamP5744HS
    17/10/2021

    star rating  We stayed as an extended family for three nights whilst attending a wedding at nearby Carden Park Hotel. As such we took all the rooms and they are as advertised.... read more

    Theonlysueb
    25/11/2021

    star rating  Just had a great stay (stables room) at higher farm. Beautiful room,with amazing bath great host and only a few minutes walk to the pub what more do you breakfast... read more

    arwel W
    28/09/2020

    star rating  Higher Farm is a beautiful place to stay and is in easy reach of many attractions and stunning countryside.
    Heather and Neil are the most attentive hosts and will go... read more

    Maps582756
    24/07/2020

Facebook

    positive review  We had the loveliest staycation in one of the Shepherds huts. This place is such a hidden gem. The hosts were extremely welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We originally booked for 1 night and then added another on during our stay as we loved it so much. The little touches and quirks within the hut were so appreciated and it had everything we needed to be comfy and cosy (including and amazing log burner inside). Cannot fault the facilities or the breakfast. Can’t wait to visit again!

    Tiffany Jade Avatar Tiffany Jade
    18/04/2021

    positive review  Excellent time at Higher Farm B&B staying in the new Shepherds Huts in the grounds. A perfect getaway with a fantastic breakfast. Heather & Neil really go that extra mile to ensure you have a great stay.

    Adrian Smyth Avatar Adrian Smyth
    27/10/2020

    positive review  Fantastic B&B, the best service. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay - very welcoming, homely atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

    Chloe Slade Avatar Chloe Slade
    26/09/2019

    positive review  We stayed at this little gem this weekend, whilst in the area for the motor racing at Oulton Park, which is only 25 minutes away. The whole building is spotlessly clean; the rooms are thoughtfully appointed and have very comfortable beds, and breakfast was first class. There's also a nice pub, serving good food, within a 5 minute walk. Heather and Neil are the perfect hosts, and we'll look forward to staying with them again when we're in the area.

    Vicki Elliott Avatar Vicki Elliott
    30/06/2019

    positive review  What an amazing place - B&B, cottage and shepherd hut options. High standard of accommodation, the loveliest of views and relaxing atmosphere. Heather and Neil are the most helpful of hosts and cannot do enough to help in any way even to the point of lending me their personal laptop when my own was playing up before an important interview! Would thoroughly recommend if you would like a peaceful location in the Chester area. We were competing in Bolesworth and location excellent for this.

    Gaynor Toft Avatar Gaynor Toft
    12/08/2020

    positive review  Absolutely fantastic hosts! Amazing quality food and furniture standard!! I would definitely recommend this lovely B n B in a very nice remote area

    Ben Lambert Avatar Ben Lambert
    08/12/2018

    positive review  Booked a stay here based on a recommendation and what a recommendation it was!! We had the best weekend, spacious rooms, beautiful building and the setting is just bliss. I could have sat outside and looked at that view for hours. Special mention to Heather and all the staff. Great host and made to feel so welcome. The only negative is on us, we didn’t book for long enough!! Can’t wait to go back!

    Gemma Barry Avatar Gemma Barry
    11/07/2021

    positive review  We stayed in one of the Shepherds huts and it was delightful! Clean, warm and lovely theme. The little touches that had been put in place were very well thought out. There was a warm welcome from the hosts and nothing was too much trouble. A very tasty fry up in the morning finished off our stay, well recommended. Will definitely return, thank you so much 😁

    Mo Hall Avatar Mo Hall
    17/04/2021

    positive review  Beautiful setting! We stayed in the shepherds hut and it was lovely and cosy even in the cold and wet weather! Hosts are extremely welcoming and the breakfast was amazing. Would love to visit again 😊 we booked very last minute and communication was brilliant from the second the booking was received

    Nicole Childs Avatar Nicole Childs
    14/12/2021

Booking.com

Tim
Tim
31. January, 2022.
9,0
Verified
Superb
Nigel
Nigel
11. January, 2022.
10
Verified
Very enjoyable. Hope to return at some stage. ☺ Brilliant room with wonderful view. Lovely host and hostess. Warm and comfortable. Very clean. Superb breakfast. Good parking, Room was luxurious and well equipped. ☹ Nothing!
Michelle
Michelle
8. January, 2022.
10
Verified
would recommend ☺ lovely views peaceful very welcoming
Derek
Derek
27. December, 2021.
10
Verified
Brilliant property ☺ The views were breathtaking it also has shepherds huts Neil and Heather Were the best hosts You could possibly hope for. The rooms are so comfy and warm The whole experience of staying there was brilliant and we would definitely recommend it and go back which we are planning to do
Angela
Angela
14. November, 2021.
10
Verified
Brilliant hosts breakfast and location ☺ Breakfast and location fabulous ☹ Nothing
Natalie
Natalie
7. October, 2021.
10
Verified
Would highly recommend ☺ In a beautiful location, 5 minute walk to the Cock O Barton restaurant across the road. Clean and comfortable, would definitely stay again. ☹ N/a
Helena
Helena
2. October, 2021.
10
Verified
Exceptional ☺ Lovely hosts, beautiful scenery and breakfast with comfortable spacious rooms ☹ NA
Anonymous
Anonymous
2. October, 2021.
10
Verified
A wonderful stay ☺ The welcome we got was so personal and lovely. Our room was beautiful - nice and clean. The owners were so friendly and breakfast was lovely. We will definitely be coming back! Thank you ☺️ ☹ Nothing!
Wesley
Wesley
10. September, 2021.
10
Verified
Not your average B&B - 5⭐ ☺ Great location and view! Hospitality from the owners was excellent. They are both genuinely nice people who do everything they can to make your stay perfect! Fresh breakfast in the morning was also excellent.
Jonathan
Jonathan
6. September, 2021.
10
Verified
Exceptional ☺ Clean. Big room Tremendous view Outstanding breakfast ☹ Nothing. Loved it.

Hotels.com

Dave
Dave
8. January, 2022.
10
Verified
Higher farm Super place room was excellent heather and Neil were great hosts the breakfast was amazing and Neil’s pot of tea made the breakfast 😂
Sarah
Sarah
12. December, 2021.
10
Verified
Excellent accommodation, hosts and lovely setting.
Reviewer
Reviewer
17. November, 2021.
10
Verified
Nice B&B in the countryside Lovely B&B which was clean and friendly. Checkin and out was simple. Very nice breakfast with plenty of choice. Host was welcoming and friendly. Nice pub only 5 mins walk.
William
William
23. September, 2021.
10
Verified
Lovely quiet location with great views over countryside. Large room with all amenities and very friendly and helpful hosts who provided useful tips on places to visit. Nicely cooked breakfast. Nice pub and restaurant nearby.
Reviewer
Reviewer
24. July, 2021.
10
Verified
Fantastic stay and the owners were absolutely fantastic, they couldn’t do enough for you. Highly rated
Arwel
Arwel
27. September, 2020.
10
Verified
Love this place Been to many b&b over the years but this room(stable) has to be the best. It a beautiful room and that bath is amazing. Will definitely come back.
Jane
Jane
12. August, 2020.
10
Verified
Higher Farm - Fabulous !! Beautiful property and location, hosts were wonderful, welcoming and vey accommodating. Will definately visit again.
Stephen
Stephen
27. July, 2020.
10
Verified
warm welcome from fantastic hosts - would highly r Amazing welcome- nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfast after a lovely quiet night’s sleep
Reviewer
Reviewer
20. October, 2019.
10
Verified
We were extremely well looked after by Heather and Neil who made us very much at home. Super breakfast!!
Jackie
Jackie
18. September, 2019.
10
Verified
Very friendly owners, such welcome and nothing to dislike

Google Reviews

Simon Francis
Simon Francis
1. December, 2021.
Verified
disaster stay - but no fault of the property There was a natural storm on this evening - the power lines were blown down - so after we returned from our ( not so good ) meal at the local pub - we were plunged into darkness - with no power - and it stayed that way - for the next 24 hrs Heather provided Breakfast - ( excellent as always ) even though no electric This was our third stay and we will still return !! as the rooms are lovely even in the dark !!
Sue Barker
Sue Barker
25. November, 2021.
Verified
We stayed as an extended family for three nights at Higher Farm whilst attending a wedding at nearby Carden Park Hotel. My goodness, what luck! We used all the rooms in the B&B and they were all absolutely delightful and as advertised in pictures. A warm welcome was given to us by Heather and Neil Armstrong. Breakfast was delicious and we couldn't have stayed in a better place. The views are magnificent. We were royally looked after. Highly recommended!
Ijaz Sarwar
Ijaz Sarwar
17. November, 2021.
Verified
Absolutely a little gem. From enquiring to booking and staying the whole process was smooth. The room (Orchard) was huge and maintained to high standards. Heather is a great host and she went out of her way to source me some local Cheshire honey. Definitely recommend a stay at Higher Farm. I had a conference at Carden Park and they couldn't accommodate me. This is ideal as it's literally 3 minutes down the road. Truly recommend this place.
Iola lloyd-jones
Iola lloyd-jones
19. September, 2021.
Verified
Wonderful place x
Wesley Bowen
Wesley Bowen
10. September, 2021.
Verified
Great B&B, service and hospitality was second to none, the owners really go all out to make you feel welcome. I stayed in the Superior Suite and was one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time, so comfy! This really isn't your average B&B, will not hesitate to go back if I'm ever in the area again! Views are also unreal
Rob Townley
Rob Townley
5. September, 2021.
Verified
perfect escape for a night away, lovely room and great full English breakfast all finished off with a wonderful view
Clare hendley
Clare hendley
16. August, 2021.
Verified
Heather and Neil could not have even nicer or more welcoming. The views are amazing and I loved the flowers around the door. Very pretty. My room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. I had booked in to complete my dissertation and Heather had put a large desk by the French windows so I could look at the views while I worked. It was heavenly. The only sounds were the birds singing, cows and the wind in the trees. Will definitely visit again. A sanctuary for the weary student!!!
Stephen Trimingham
Stephen Trimingham
15. August, 2021.
Verified
A lovely stay with very attentive staff/owners.
Thea de Joode
Thea de Joode
14. July, 2021.
Verified
A very special place. We stayed two nights on the way south and then north again in the shepherds huts which are beautifully furnished and lovely with fire baskets outside. Our children loved the huts and playing in the meadow outside. Heather and Neil are exceptional hosts ans couldn't have been more welcoming, even helping offer to heat our pizzas for dinner one night when we had had a long drive, and giving the kids marshmallows to toast. Breakfast delicious. Would def recommend.

Please Leave Us A Review

Soon you will be able to directly leave a review here on the Higher Farm B&B website.

For now we would appreciate it if you could tell us about your stay with us on Tripadvisor below.